• Feed RSS
Coordinates: 20.1° and 24.7°N Latitudes
                    68.4° and 74.4°E Longtitudes
To the north-west: International Border with Pakistan
To the west: The Arabian Sea
To the south/south-west: Maharashtra
To the east: Madhya Pradesh
To the north: Rajasthan

Natural Regions of Gujarat
The natural regions of Gujarat can be divided into two broad areas:
  1. Mainland Gujarat
  2. Peninsula
The Mainland consists of:
  • North Gujarat
  • Central Gujarat
  • Plains of South Gujarat
And the Peninsula consists of:
  • High Lands
  • Interior Plains
  • Coastal Saurashtra
There are three types of Mainland Gujarat: North Gujarat, Central Gujarat and the Plains of South Gujarat which are spread in the valley regions of Narmada, Mahi and Tapi rivers. These rivers flow from east to west and meet the Gulf of Khambhatt.
In the north-eastern region of mainland Gujarat, there are the Aravalli mountain regions, with heights of about 150 to 319 meters. These regions are spread up to the Narmada river in the south.
In the eastern side of mainland Gujarat, there are the Saputara mountain ranges, which have heights between150 and 243 mts. These regions separate Gujarat from the western Khandesh of Maharashtra and divides Narmada and Tapi into two parts. Tapi, Mahi, Sabarmati and Narmada rivers flow through the alluvial plains of these mountain ranges. The alluvial plains are fragmented by small plateaus, four big rivers, the mountains and hills. 
Peninsular Gujarat can be divided into three parts: 1. High Lands, 2. Interior Plains and 3. Coastal Saurashtra Regions. In the central high lands, rivers Machhu, Shetrunji, Bhadar flow towards the Arabian Sea or the Gulf of Khambhatt. In the Northern part of Saurashtrathere are muddy plains which have come into existence due to the sea and also large areas of saline land.


Post a Comment